Board of Directors

Board of Directors

Mr. Edmund M. Carpenter

Edmund M. Carpenter, has been a director since March 2007. Mr. Carpenter currently serves as an operating partner to Genstar Capital. Mr. Carpenter was President and Chief Executive Officer of Barnes Group Inc. from 1998 until his retirement in December 2006. Prior to joining Barnes Group Inc., Mr. Carpenter was Senior Managing Director of Clayton, Dubilier & Rice from 1996 to 1998, and Chief Executive Officer of General Signal from 1988 to 1995. He has served as a director at Campbell Soup Company since 1990. He holds both an M.B.A. and a B.S.E. in Industrial Engineering from the University of Michigan.

Mr. Carl R. Christenson
Chairman and Chief Executive Officer
Carl Christenson

Carl R. Christenson, has been a director since July 2007 and our Chairman and Chief Executive Officer since April 2014. Prior to his current position, Mr. Christenson served as our President and CEO from January 2009 to April 2014 and our President and Chief Operating Officer from January 2005 to December 2008. From 2001 to 2005, Mr. Christenson was the President of Kaydon Bearings, a manufacturer of custom-engineered bearings and a division of Kaydon Corporation. Prior to joining Kaydon, Mr. Christenson held a number of management positions at TB Wood's Corporation (now a subsidiary of Altra) and several positions at the Torrington Company. Mr. Christenson holds M.S. and B.S. degrees in Mechanical Engineering from the University of Massachusetts and an M.B.A. from Rensselaer Polytechnic.

Mr. Lyle G. Ganske

Lyle G. Ganske, has been a director since November 2007. Mr. Ganske co-chairs Jones Day's global mergers & acquisitions practice. He is an advisor to significant companies, focusing primarily on M&A, takeovers, takeover preparedness, corporate governance, executive compensation, and general corporate counseling. Mr. Ganske has experience in transactions involving regulated industries, including telecom and energy. Mr. Ganske received his J.D. from Ohio State University and his B.S.B.A. at Bowling Green State University and currently serves on the boards of the Greater Cleveland Partnership, Rock and Roll Hall of Fame, Business Volunteers of America, and Leadership Cleveland.

Mr. Michael S. Lipscomb

Michael S. Lipscomb, has been a director since November 2007. Mr. Lipscomb was the Chairman and CEO of Argo-Tech, a leading supplier to the aerospace industry, where he led the company through five bank refinances, four high yield bond offerings, and successfully managed the sale of the company to Eaton Corporation in March of 2007. During his career, Mr. Lipscomb has gained global industrial operating experience as a co-founder of Argo-Tech, as a Managing Director at TRW and in plant and engineering management roles at the Utica Tool Company. He currently serves as the CEO of Aviation Component Solutions, Inc. Mr. Lipscomb received his MBA from Clemson-Furman University and his B.S. from Clemson University and previously served on the boards of Argo-Tech, MAMCO Enterprises, Ruhlin Construction Company, Duradyne, and SIFCO.

Mr. Larry McPherson

Larry McPherson, has been a director since January 2005. Prior to joining the Board, Mr. McPherson was a Director of NSK Ltd. from 1997 until his retirement in 2003 and served as Chairman and CEO of NSK Europe from January 2002 to December 2003. In total he was employed by NSK Ltd. for 21 years and was Chairman and CEO of NSK Americas for the six years prior to his European assignment. Mr. McPherson serves as a board member of McNaughton and Gunn, Inc., a privately owned printing company. Mr. McPherson earned his MBA from Georgia State and his undergraduate degree in Electrical Engineering from Clemson University.

Mr. Thomas W. Swidarski

Thomas W. Swidarski, 55, has been a director since April 24, 2014.  Mr. Swidarski previously served as the Chief Executive Officer and President of Diebold, Incorporated, a $3 billion global leader in designing, manufacturing and distributing self service technologies (ATMs) in over 100 countries, from October 12, 2005 to January 19, 2013. Mr. Swidarski served as Senior Vice President of Financial Self-Service Group of Diebold, Incorporated, from 2001 to September 2005 and served as its Chief operating officer from October 12, 2005 to December 2005. Mr. Swidarski also held various strategic development and marketing positions at Diebold since 1996. Prior to Diebold, he held various positions within the financial industry for nearly 20 years focusing on marketing, product management, retail bank profitability, branding and retail distribution. Mr. Swidarski served as a Director of Diebold, Incorporated from December 12, 2005 to January 8, 2013. He holds a BA in marketing from the University of Dayton and an MBA in business management from Cleveland State University.

Mr. James H. Woodward Jr.

James H. Woodward, Jr., has been a director since March 2007. Mr. Woodward currently serves as interim Senior Vice President and Chief Financial Office of Accuride Corporation. Previously, Mr. Woodward served as Executive Vice President and Chief Financial Officer and Treasurer of Joy Global Inc. from January 2007 until February 2008. Prior to joining Joy Global Inc., Mr. Woodward was Executive Vice President and Chief Financial Officer of JLG Industries, Inc. from August 2000 until its sale in December 2006. Prior to JLG Industries, Inc., Mr. Woodward held various financial positions at Dana Corporation since 1982. Mr. Woodward is a Certified Public Accountant and holds a B.A. degree in Accounting from Michigan State University.